Criminal defense is a fairly broad category and covers a wide range of possible charges an individual could face in the state of Colorado. Most crimes fall within the category of misdemeanor or felony. A misdemeanor is considered less serious than a felony.
Have you been arrested for a felony or misdemeanor? Do the following:
Remember each case is different and there is no such thing as one-size-fits-all legal representation.
Whether the prosecutor has sufficient evidence to proceed to trial, whether the police had probable cause, or whether a defendant's rights were violated are all factual questions. It takes a skilled attorney to explain to law and apply the law to specific facts of your case.
Contact our office. We’re open during regular business hours, but we will stay late or be available on weekends if necessary. Schedule a free consultation and let us speak with you and advice you on how to proceed. We are ready, willing and able to discuss and defend you against any criminal charge in Denver, Aurora, Arapahoe County, Adams County or any court in the State of Colorado.
Degrees of Misdemeanors
There are three degrees of misdemeanors. A first degree misdemeanor is the most serious, and a third degree is the least serious. You have to look at the statute you are charged with to determine the degree of misdemeanor you are charged with. The penalties for each are as follows:
Class 1 Misdemeanors: the most serious type of misdemeanor in Colorado. They are punishable by six to 18 months in jail, a fine of $500 to $5,000, or both.
Class 2 Misdemeanors: carries a possible jail term of three to 12 months, a fine of $250 to $1,000, or both.
Class 3 Misdemeanors: The least serious misdemeanors under Colorado’s laws, punishable by up to six months in jail, a fine of $50 to $750, or both.
Have you been charged with a misdemeanor?
Contact us today.
Degrees of Felonies
Felonies are serious criminal offenses, and the procedures used for a felony charge are vastly different than those of a misdemeanor. In some cases, department of corrections times is a mandatory. Regardless of what the charges are, it is always important to consult with a Denver or Aurora Criminal Defense attorney if charged with a felony. The penalties for felonies are as follows:
Class 1 Felony: The most serious crime. An example of a class 1 felony is murder in the first degree. A person found guilty of a class one felony can be sentenced to life in jail or death.
Class 2 Felony: Punishable eight to twenty four years in prison. A fine of $5,000 to $100,000 could also be imposed.
Class 3 Felony: Can result in a state prison sentence of four to 12 years and a fine of $3,000 to $750,000.
Class 4 Felony: Punishable by two to six years’ imprisonment and a fine of $2,000 to $500,000.
Class 5 Felony: Punishable by one to three years in prison and a fine of $1,000 to $100,000.
Class 6 Felony: The least serious felonies in Colorado, punishable by one year to 18 months in prison and a fine of $1,000 to $100,000.
To further complicate the matter, cities have their own municipal codes. These codes also create criminal violations. These types of offenses are called municipal ordinance violations and are discussed more in depth under that practice area.